Discrete vs. Non-Discrete

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cpsmusic

Hi Folks,

I recently had a chance to watch this instructional video: https://www.groove3.com/tutorials/Microphone-Preamps-Explained.

Now, I'm no electronics expert, but from my (limited) understanding, there's some information in this series that's just plain wrong. In Part 5 ("You Get What You Pay For") the narrator compares 3 mic pres - a MOTU UltraLite, a GA 73 and a Chandler Germanium. He says that because the first two pres are "non-discrete" and so they have more noise, increased distortion, lower headroom, and less gain. In contrast, the Chandler is "discrete because it's built from individual components as opposed to a printed circuit board" (!) (as a Neve clone isn't the GA discrete?). It has a faster slew rate and therefore a better transient response...etc.

Anyway, there seems to be a lot of misinformation here - I think op-amps are being confused with the use of PCBs, etc. Over at <https://nwavguy.blogspot.com.au/2011/08/op-amps-myths-facts.html> the author states that "For audio use the op amp’s main competition is a fully discrete amplifier made out of transistors, resistors, etc. Which is better? It turns out, for nearly all applications for which IC op amps are suitable, they easily outperform discrete designs in the following areas..."

Are IC op-amps really the problem here?

If anyone is interested I can put the clip up on dropbox (it's probably a copyright infringement but in the interests of truth I'm prepared to take the hit).

Cheers,

Chris

Audio is filled with people misattributing the reasons for sonic differences that are clearly audible.