DIY line level summing

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrissA

Hi there!

I'm an electronics noob and want to verify I have done my research correctly before I destroy something. I need to sum analog line level signals together out of a mixing desk. The output is 50 ohms, max +21dB(U), balanced line level signal. After summing they go into a line level input. What I understood from my research is I have to put a 10k resistor (0.25w ok?) in series with both the + and - of both signals before joining the + of both and the - of both and the ground without anything in between. The loss should be -9.5dB, but if they are identical that should add 6dB so the total loss should in theory be between -9.5dB and -3.5dB.

Are these assertions correct?

** EDIT ** Also quite important, am I also correct if I say there is no (or barely any) loss of audio quality?

Thanks,
Chris

ut
Are these assertions correct?
More or less. The exact loss depends also on the input impedance of the line input. If the two outputs are uncorrelated the level will increase by 3dB. If they are 100% correlated (i.e. identical) the level will increase by 6dB
** EDIT ** Also quite important, am I also correct if I say there is no (or barely any) loss of audio quality?
You are correct.

Cheers

Ian

More or less. The exact loss depends also on the input impedance of the line input. If the two outputs are uncorrelated the level will increase by 3dB. If they are 100% correlated (i.e. identical) the level will increase by 6dB

You are correct.

Cheers

Ian