Eagle Lessons

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gold

It's about time for me to learn how to lay out a PCB. It's getting to the point where I have to. PCB 123 and the like are PC only. I'm more comfortable on a Mac.  If there is a board house with online software for mac I'd use it but I don't think there is. I think I should start using Eagle. I am a computer idiot and I have no experience with graphics software.

Is there anyone in NYC (Brooklyn) who would be willing to give me a few (paid) lessons. I'm looking to have the mechanics explained to me so I can get past square one. I don't expect to  be doing 10 layer mixed signal PCB's any time soon. Any takers?

Gold said:
It's about time for me to learn how to lay out a PCB. It's getting to the point where I have to. PCB 123 and the like are PC only. I'm more comfortable on a Mac.  If there is a board house with online software for mac I'd use it but I don't think there is. I think I should start using Eagle. I am a computer idiot and I have no experience with graphics software.

FWIW, the recent stable version of Kicad works like a champ on OS X. Get it from here. I've done three successful board designs with it in the last few months, and two more are being tabbed as we type.

The learning curve is probably no different from any other PCB design package if you've got no prior experience.

With any PCB package, you will have to deal with the library system. I have built up a pretty extensive set of libraries, which I am glad to share (with anyone).

Andy Peters said:
FWIW, the recent stable version of Kicad works like a champ on OS X. Get it from here. I've done three successful board designs with it in the last few months, and two more are being tabbed as we type.

The learning curve is probably no different from any other PCB design package if you've got no prior experience.