Embarrassingly basic PCB layout question: TO5-8 overlaid with DIP-8 okay?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soapfoot

I'm entirely self-taught so please forgive the super basic question.

If I wanted to be able to accommodate both a TO5-8 footprint and DIP-8 footprint, is this an okay strategy?

Screen Shot 2023-03-16 at 10.21.56 PM.png

For all I know this is a super common thing to do--I've seen it done with through-hole DIP-8 and smaller SMT packages, but I can't recall ever having seen it done with DIP-8 and TO5-8. The only question is whether some of the pads might end up borderline too-close. Otherwise it seems it could work okay.

Any reason I shouldn't do this?

Thanks so much

One other comment....in the posted layout, I see a few traces that intersect the corresponding "donuts" at an odd angle. Traces should go "center to center" of the corresponding donuts to reduce fabrication problems.

Bri

Thank you. This was just a super quick mockup for proof-of-concept
I totally understand!

I guess that snapshot was from Kicad? shrug....looks like it to me.

I seldom do PCB layouts anymore, but Kicad is what I use.

In Kicad,you can set "Design Rules" which establish spacings for things like traces and how close to the edge, etc. The PCB manufacturer has corresponding rules. See what the PC board fab says for their standards and then add "a mil or two" on the layout.

I ASSume you already corresponded the pin differences between DIP9 and TO5-8. That always seems to confused me! lol

I expect Midnight Arrakis will chime in here with a long reply and I'll bow out <g>.

Bri

I totally understand!

I guess that snapshot was from Kicad? shrug....looks like it to me.

I seldom do PCB layouts anymore, but Kicad is what I use.