fully passive (no gain) pultec topology eq

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dfuruta

Hello,

I've been reading this board for a while now, and learning a lot, but this is my first time posting.  I am working towards building a passive eq based on the pultec schematics on the Gyraf website.  I would like to keep it totally passive–my plan is to have a transformer-balanced output that can be plugged into a mic amp for make-up gain.

This is what I am planning:  this is updated to reflect the conversation below
1024x768

I will be winding the inductors myself.  Got that part more or less figured out, at least!

Before I go and drop the money for the components, I wanted to post and see if there are any glaring problems.  I'm very much still a student when it comes to electronics, and it's totally possible there's some huge mistake.

If I am correct, this will need around 45dB of gain to get back where it started.  This is higher than I'd like, but I'm not sure if there's a way around it while still keeping reasonable input and output impedances.  I'm also not sure if a 600 ohm output impedance is a little high to feed into a mic amp.

I would be very grateful for any criticism & critique!

For better loading a 7:1 or higher output transformer will present a lighter load at the output 49x2K=98Kohms, assuming a 2K impedance preamp input. With only a 4:1 it would look like 16x2k=32Kohms. If you also use a 1:1 600ohm for the input the gain loss would be roughly the same as in your plan. I have tried something similar with well spec'd transformers and it was fine, but I would use a purpose built gain stage if at all possible.

MatthisD said: