Green Pre, 1u rack cases, and more.....

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

therecordingart

-Where can I find the info on the Green Pre? i.e. parts list, how to order the PCB, schematic...etc....

-What is a rough estimate on the build cost?

-If built well with good parts...can this pre be compared to a certain preamp thats out on the market...sound wise?

-Where is a good place to order 1u rack cases?

-How do I go about building a power supply for the Green Pre?

Thanks guys...I'm a complete newbie so don't rip on me too much please!

Cost can vary depending on the quality of components and where you buy them. I'll have to dig up my files but i think my first build came out to around $30 a channel.

There should be a Green Meta thread. I can't remember if one ever actually got made though. Just do a search and you should find just about any information you need.

To get boards, look for a fairly recent thread in the Black Market where PeterC was taking requests for the next run of V14 boards.

PeterC also sells power supply boards (or did, I'm not sure if he's still offering those or not). I bought a PSU board from another Lab member from SSLTech's 9k project.

Par-Metal is a favorite around here for rack cases. That's where i bought mine. High quality stuff.

Daniel

[quote author="therecordingart"]-Where can I find the info on the Green Pre? i.e. parts list, how to order the PCB, schematic...etc....
-If built well with good parts...can this pre be compared to a certain preamp thats out on the market...sound wise?
-How do I go about building a power supply for the Green Pre?[/quote]

search.jpg

Lest laziness get the best of thee!

Peace,
Al.

Hi Recording Artist,