Help measuring a Luxman SQ38 signature Output Transformer

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fixproaudio

*Adding for clarification - im intending on swapping out both transformers.

I am a bit new to transformer measurements, but I am working on an out of commission hifi amp (Luxman SQ38 signature) - Class AB ultra linear with 4 EL34s rated at 40W. 1 Transformer is good and I put in a known low voltage (~3V) and measured the secondary outputs - Got a turns ratio of about 26.7 and an impedance of 713.2 (turns ratio squared). At 8 ohms this comes out to about 5705.1 ohms primary side effective resistance. I found a made to order transformer with primary taps at 5.2k and 6.6k push pull rated at 35W - I would love to know what sort of performance difference I can expect from the original. Any insight?

Mainly im not sure if measuring at such a low test voltage (spec plate is 475V) would result in me getting a huge error in the turns ratio. I would imagine pumping 475V would heat the coils a bit more effectively changing the primary Side impedance.

There is little to no information on this amp and the company is not giving me any information as well. Best I have it a diagram from the manual.

If anybody has any good links to transformer I can purchase for this amp I would love to check them out.

much love,

Jon

Last edited:
Since it's a stereo amp, you want both channels to be as identical as possible. In order to preserve that symetry, I believe you have two options, either you find a Luxman original OT, either you replace both OTs.

Axel

All good then...
With so little info about this particular amp and its OT, we cannot predict "what sort of performance difference you can expect from the original"...