Hi-Z input to Lo-Z transformer proof (as in proof it works?)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dramadisease

Many different versions of Hi-Z buffers have been discussed here, and all seem to be somewhat close in basic design, but I really wanted to design something on my own because I've never tried designing solidstate circuits before, and because when it's finished I would be using it in some commercially available products... so here's my first attempt.

It's basically just a proven 2 transistor (1fet 1 bjt) circuit with a bias setup and constant current source, but I figure if I can understand why exactly it's working (if it works!), then that would go a long way helping me to understand solidstate better.

My "bias procedure" would be to put a 400Hz sine wave on the input and clip the circuit, then bias until its symmetrical. Hopefully this would allow me to avoid intense transistor matching. (I hope!)

I don't have a sim program, which I should probably get to try this stuff out, but will this work?

http://www.sourssound.com/groupdiy/diround2.pdf

my apologies for the sloppy schematic
thanks for the help guys!
-bryan

> sine wave on the input and clip the circuit, bias until its symmetrical.

Why?

The circuit will pull up to nearly +24V, down to nearly +0.6V. The "ideal bias" might be +12.3V on the output node. However if signal is within 10% of maximum output, you don't want a bias trim, you want a smaller signal or a higher rail. So +/-10% tolerance on the output node voltage is entirely acceptable. I'd be happy 10V to 14V.