How can I learn to make my own preamp circuit?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jark

Hello,

I am very new to this space, and currently, I am trying to build my own DIY microphone. Currently, I have little to no "real" experience in electrical engineering, as the most I have learned about is basic resistor, capacitor, inductor circuits from college physics. I could just buy some preamp circuit on the internet, but I want to be able to actually understand the mechanics of what is going on inside of a preamp circuit, and maybe build a prototype on a breadboard or something. However, when I look at a schematic, I am just confused and have no idea where to look at. Can someone point me to some resources which can help me get a better understanding of electrical engineering and preamp circuits overall?

Thanks

It sounds from your comment about getting confused that a basic overview of how to interpret schematic symbols and the historical conventions around drawing schematics would be useful.
When I was getting started there were introductory books for electronic technicians which were helpful for acquiring that kind of foundational knowledge, but I am not sure what the current equivalent of those would be. Much of the knowledge and techniques taught then for technicians started with basic transistor circuits, which are still very much useful for microphones and classic audio circuits, but much less useful for modern computers and consumer electronics, so I don't know if current generation textbooks for technicians would still cover the basics in the same way or not.