Lowering SD Condenser noise, Pearl CMR-55H / CR-55.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrelwood

Hello.

I've got a pair of these physically large, C1000-style mics. They have a marvellous sound on acoustic western, but they have a very high noise floor. I believe CR-55 is the same as CMR-55H.

Any suggestions how to get the noise lower? There are no transformers, all components are showing, except for the bass roll-off switch.

For me, those blue tantals are yelling "replace me", but I have very little experience in modding mics. The orange drops say "1-35", the trannies are fuzzy, but I believe the upper says "A1015 Y 16", the other "C1819 Y 16".
Pearl_CMR-55H.jpg

Here You can get some idea of what's going on with the connections. The black and red on the very right come from optional onboard 9V battery. White and red 1/3rd from the right goes directly to output, as does the blue ground. The two whites and two reds go to bass roll-off switch; in flat mode the reds are together, and white ones are together.
Pearl_CMR-55H_back.jpg

Thanks for any ideas!

Do you have a photo of the whole microphone?

Some of those Pearl mics are quite interesting - I'm surprised the noise floor is so high though.

That guy in the middle on the far left is a FET I'll wager. Probably a Toshib* part like the other two (the 2SA1015 and probably a 2SC1815; odd that they are both the lowest beta codes ("Y")).

The FET, if Toshib*, is probably a 2SK266. Although it doesn't have the lowest voltage noise it has low capacitance compared to lower noise parts, so the loading on the capsule will be less and the signal voltage higher. You might still see an improvement with a lower noise higher C part, e.g. 2SK170, but there will likely be effects on the frequency response.