M-audio Sputnik (Capsule and Transformer modding)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

useme2305

hi, i'm new!  :D

i recently obtained two m-audio sputnik tube mics for REAL cheap. i know you guys build your own kick-ass tube mics but i'm not at that stage yet and i'm really damn poor.

so i'm thinking about changing the capsule and replacing the output tranny with the C12 tranny which i heard was a suitable mod for this mic.

i haven't ordered any of these parts yet as i'm totally unsure if this is even possible for me. i'm a total beginner. my only projects so far have been numerous guitar pedals based on vero layouts, a few Bo Hansen DIs, some Classic API pres including the DOAs and some tube amp repairs and mods without really knowing what i'm doing but always having been successful.

so yesterday i tried to measure the polarizing voltage of the Sputnik to see if any mods have to be done to the circuit for the capsule swap.

12V in Cardioid
40V in fig Eight
and less than 1V in Omni  :eek:

that doesn't sound right to me. is it? what might i be doing wrong? or is the Sputnik just a really shitty mic after all?

maybe i should just build a G7 or an MK47. what do you recommend?

You can't measure polarization voltage at the capsule with a regular multimeter because of the high impedance, you have to measure before the big bias resistors. I would just swap the capsule and if the diaphragm sticks to the backplate then work on the voltages.

But wait! I just removed the capsule from a M-Audio Nova, and it was a pretty nice capsule, being amplified by not-so-good circuitry. I put it in a modded MXL 9000, and it sounds much better than the original (K67-type) capsule that was in that mic.