MCI JH416 Black version - need info

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxwall

I just acquired a MCI JH 416 console in black with API faders. The console is in amazingly
good cosmetic condition  for its age. I think 1972 or so. I know this console has transformer
coupled circuits inside. This is what attracted me to purchase it. I don't know if the console has Jensen or Beyer trasnformers in it. I have not had time to check yet. I would think this console has a lot of character and color , hope I'm right.

I've searched the web for info and I'm looking for a service manual but I don't want to pay $100 for it. Can anyone refer me to tech schematics for it ? PDF ?

Parts sources, other than Blevin's Audio

Does anyone have any comments about this console ,and some things to look out for
when owning one of these. I have no ownership experience yet.

The opamps are MCI 2001 ( Harris 911 ) which if they are not working plan to replace with
OP27 or 5534 opamps or originals if needed. Have not crossed this road yet.

thanks for any comments suggestions or help to find documentation.

rob,

interesting

are the relays easy to replace with upgraded ones or are they of a proprietary
design ?

I noticed the caps in the EQ are the same ones that Neve uses , the blue philips ones.

Eq switches are all electoswitch rotaries, and allen bradley pots - very impressive quality
compared to today's mixers

Also, every channel has beyer input transformers in a white can.

this board sounds like a keeper so far, I just need to find 8 more channels to fill the bucket to 24
but so far its a good starting point.

i have one and am in the process of trying to selling it, times are tough if you need any info let me know, i have tonnes! console will be posted in the black market in a day or so

mcfarlane_audio said: