Melcor opamp and RCA mixer cards

Help Support GroupDIY:

pucho812

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
12,289
Location
third stone from the sun
Deepdark said:
thanks Pucho. So it was made that way, for any unknown reason. No trouble to run them at 28V, right?

Well I am sure there was a reason, but there is no documentation as to why and nothing on the board uses it as +/-28VDC
 

Deepdark

Well-known member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,321
Location
Quebec, Canada
You're right. The only thing i have is the schematic and little info about the mixer. I could cut the traces and run it straight 15v into the opamp or feed it 28 and let the transistors works as intended, right?
 

Deepdark

Well-known member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,321
Location
Quebec, Canada
Yup, i will desolder stuff haha. Implementing api 312 element us pretty easy here, no need for a card ;)

I was only wondering about feeding at 28v. It's made to be feed with bipolar 28v, so i could just be lazy and feed it as intended haha, unless someone warn me to not doing it lol. For the trim and other un-needed element, i will desolder everything and be happy with that. I think it's fairly easy plan.
 

pucho812

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
12,289
Location
third stone from the sun
The op amp is what your seeking here, not the UOAB card.  The card has it's purpose in the RCA desk. I  have yet to see it or hear of it used elsewhere. 
 

Deepdark

Well-known member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,321
Location
Quebec, Canada
You're right. I could simply get an API312 card over here and put the opamp on it, instead of using the card as an 312 card.
 

pucho812

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
12,289
Location
third stone from the sun
if you really just want the opamps, PM me. I could always use another spare  uoab card for the rca desk I service and swap you a couple  doa's for your troubles.  ;)
 

Deepdark

Well-known member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,321
Location
Quebec, Canada
haha. The cards was brought to me by a friend of mine who wanted to use them as mic pre. This is why I thought about the API 312. With not much modifications, we can use it as an 312 mic pre card :) As I stated, the only thing I was wondering was the 28v supply. If one transistor came bad, I guess I would just have the wrong voltage at the opamp, but not the full input voltage (28v). Right?
 

sonidos

New member
Joined
May 13, 2016
Messages
1
Hi guys, just wanna chime in since I also have like 12 of these cards, plus transfos and other parts of the original custom board.
DeepDark, since you're form Montreal I would guess your friend bought from the same lot as me. In that lot were parts of mixing boards from both RCA Studios of Mtl & Toronto.
They were built custom, with Melcor/Neumann/Gotham parts mainly, by RCA staff around 1968 (Mtl).
(+ Hammond transfos, + Daven stepped attenuator, + PEC pots, etc.
Eq's were germanium based, don't have any of these though.)

I've been researching the history of this console for a while, and I feel a bit less like a useless archive digger now that I found some like-mindeds  ;)

Actually there was a bunch of 4PDT relays, lamps inside switches, and some reaaaalllly old school looking phase scope (with a kind of CRT-powered display). I can't see any voltage rating on the relays, but 28V is one of the standards for that kind of relay.

So yeah, I would guess that all the other stuff to power is the reason for the 28V.
One of my teacher looked at the card and said that there was a delayed-power-up scheme around the transistors (like the +15V firing a bit before the -15, in order to minimise "pops" on power up, or something like that). He might be mistaken though.
 

Deepdark

Well-known member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,321
Location
Quebec, Canada
Hi

I think my friend got at the same as you, yes. I really don't much about it's history. It came with hammond 813 transformer input. It's feed at 28v and passing through a transistor network to finished at 15v bipolar. All informations i got were in the document found on the forum. I plan using them to make an summing mixer for my friend
 

emrr

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
7,798
Location
NC, USA
Old thread. I have 4 of these boards, any ideas on what they are worth if I were to sell them?
less than the value of the op amp if still on the board, market value for the op amps if removed and tested.
 

lotus11

New member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
4
less than the value of the op amp if still on the board, market value for the op amps if removed and tested.
Thanks, Opamps are still on boards, no way to test but, worked when console was de commissioned many moons ago.Came from the RCA console at Institute of Audio Research.
 

Latest posts

Top