Must-have pre-amps/EQs

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weiss

Hey guys. I am totally new to api modules (and diy in general). I plan to buy a set of preamps / eq's (2 or more) for my lunchbox.
Did anyone test one of the following units i found and wants to share his own experiences or other favourites for recording vocals, guitar etc?

- Hairball Audio Lola / Elements
- SoundSkulptor MP573 / MP512
- SoundSkulptor EQ573

Or if i may ask the other way round: Are there any "must-have" modules? What 500 module DIY kits would you recommend for preamping / eqing?
I am searching for gear not so expensive compared to others but using vintage circuits and which is expected to sound warm and close.  :)

thanks for your ideas
weiss

weiss said:
.....or other favourites.

EQ ONE

http://groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=52462.msg668904#msg668904

MICPRE ONE

http://groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=52443.msg668674#msg668674

Some comments;

...The EQ's sound great by the way! Can't wait to get them on some audio! ....

....Finally got a bit of a chance to play with the EQ and it seems great...

....The module sounds great. It can go from surgical to broad shelf and sound great. I'll be ordering another in a month or so...

On MICPRE ONE with mic connected
....Tried driving the preamp hard and it seemed really clean right up ...

With guitar on the instrument input

....When I whacked the gain up further I got some awesome distortion. But indeed that distortion had me playing around on the guitar for a while! At some point I'll try it with a microphone to the cab keeping the cab sound clean and distorting the micpre...

EQ ONEs on live application (the author has 5 on his rack)

Hi Cemal,

excuse me replying so late,way too much work atm.