My custom 80/20 workstation

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hiegdk

Last year I designed and assembled a desk/workstation using 80/20. I designed in in Fusion 360 and had a local 80/20 supplier do all the cutting (they also supplied all the parts).

I've never done anything like this before but I'm quite happy with the results. Figured I'd share in case anyone is thinking about doing something similar.

Pros: fun, solid, useful, customizable, expandable.
Cons: stupidly expensive - like the only reason to do it is if, like me, you get obsessed with the idea and can't be stopped.

Here's a link to some quick documentation of the project I threw together: Desk Project

DeskPhoto2.jpg

Last edited:
That looks great. It's stupidly expensive but everything can be reused. If you did it out of wood and you wanted something else you would probably just end up throwing it away.

This week I made a table from material that had been used to construct a tent platform in the Adirondacks. No longer needed I broke it down and brought some of it to the studio. It was outside in the elements for six years. It cleaned up without too much effort. It cost me very little to make. I just had to get some fasteners and brackets.

Attachments

• 0AF385CC-84BB-426B-A925-CF2550C8248D.jpeg
    0AF385CC-84BB-426B-A925-CF2550C8248D.jpeg
    4.9 MB · Views: 2
  • 50543F0A-A2B6-433E-A91D-1143157C4B1C.jpeg
    50543F0A-A2B6-433E-A91D-1143157C4B1C.jpeg
    3.4 MB · Views: 1
A good way to organize test cables or generally hang things up is with 4”-6” hex bolts screwed into a roll in nut. Then secured with a fender washer and hex nut.

You have a nice peg board tool holder. I just hang my tools over bolts.

Last edited:
That looks amazing.