Need help understanding the purpose of resistors in DI box schematics.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sam0311

Sorry I wasn’t sure where put this post, please let me know if you’d like me to move it.

Bit of a disclaimer, whilst I have an interest in electronics I have very little practical experience with it. It’s also been a while since I’ve read up on it so I’m a little bit rusty.

I want to try out an experiment where I try to push a transformer past it’s limits with my Eurorack to see how it sounds. Should be a relatively cheap and simple project but I’m struggling to find all of the information I need.

I was looking at one of Jensen’s schematics for a DI box. On the input side they have a resistor in series with the tip of the jack socket and one to ground if you include the AC coupling option.

Link to schematics

I want to better understand the function of these and how they interact with the rest of the circuit with a particular focus on impedance, and know how to choose resistor values for a transformer of my choice (the ones I’m looking at have a 10k input impedance).

I understand that the resistor in the AC coupling option acts as part of a high pass filter but wasn’t sure if the value of this should change if the value of the other resistor or transformer changes.

Cheers guys

Attachments

• 3D95D06B-3DA6-471A-87EA-B6596415C198.jpeg
    3D95D06B-3DA6-471A-87EA-B6596415C198.jpeg
    225.5 KB · Views: 6
I’ve been doing some thinking and I feel like something like this may work?

C1 and RV1 for AC coupling, RV1 also acting as input attenuator. 10k output impedance is a bit high for Eurorack but if I understand correctly with a standard 100k input impedance I’d only be losing about 1db of gain which isn’t the end of the world.

Attachments

• 30BA1FF2-E767-4683-96D1-C0948F165A87.png
    30BA1FF2-E767-4683-96D1-C0948F165A87.png