Preengineering for my studio (guitar)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

G-spotrecordings

Hello,

I'm a recording engineer from Belgium and I signed up today after bumping in on this really interesting newsgroup. I see that a lot of real engineers are on this group. I'm willing to be part of that, but I'll have to learn a lot before being part of this group. Anyway I have a litlle problem that I'm trying to tackle, and I hope you guys might help me out.

I have a pretty high end recording studio (in parts actually cause I'm going to build it within two months if my planning is ok) I'm actually going from totally digital to totally analogue (at least the front end). I do mainly rock music and recording guitar is one of the things i do best but It takes really a lot of time to get the result I want mainly because I have to go from room to room untill I'm satisfied with the sound. I mainly do a blend of three amp at all times (mostly single rectifier, marshall LM6100 and and a JCM800). What I would like to do is have the heads in my studio and the cabinets in the booth. There is a distance of around 20 meters between both rooms. Does anyone know how to tackle this problem with a minimum of signal degradation.

As I use three amp at the same time I would like to build some kind of reamp box. But I'dd like to use it as follows. One guitar in four different amps (in case I might favour four but that's extreme) and a fifth channel back into my daw through my studer 903 mixer and into my daw using Studer V8 ADDA converters. The latter for reamping if I'm not satisfied with the end blend. The guitarsignal gets balanced immediately (api 3124+ hiz input)