pwm compressor ??'s

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wilebee

How hard would it be construct a pwm circuit with a pic chip and some memoriy that we could design and progam some compression curves. the pwm could control maybe a combination of gain control devices like some jfet's and or a vca to mimic the gain reaction of a varible mu compressor or a variety of Jfet style compressors ?

I'd love some feedback (no pun intended)

Wil

Wilebee

oh yeah I think i do now remember this thread going round. I'm interested in wraping my brain around this . Wil

wow, i ahd forgotten about this. ... still interested in working on one with someone.. i have plenty of PWM drive experience..that is if you call blowing power IGBTs for fun experience.. :green:

I'm still trying to digest this schematic. The idea I had was to use the pwm to varing the on/off time on say either a single jfet or a pair on input devices I'm thinking that with pwm shouldn't we be able to kind of talor the rediction charteristics. I think it would take some pretty crazy detector circuit thoughts ??

Wil