Questions about BM800 modding

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikeylemur

I want to take on this small project to develop my soldering experience. As I have no knowledge of electric engineering, I will be following this this guide as it seems pretty beginner friendly. Only three parts to solder, not too bad. There are probably more optimal ways to improve the BM800 PCB, but this guide has pictures to refer too and I don't need to read and pcb schematics.

So the guide suggests a small NPO ceramic or mica capacitor of 20 to 30 pF, an electrolytic capacitor of 250 to 1000 mF at 16V or more, (small enough to fit inside the mic.) and optionally but recommended, a 270 to 470 ohm, 1/8 watt or higher, resistor. OP used an 22pF, 1000mF / 16V, and 330 ohms 1/4 watt resistors.

Here are some parts I found on AliExpress:
-ceramic or mica capacitor of 20 to 30 pF: 1, 2, 3,4 The guide doesn't specify a voltage. I have found ceramic capacitors rated at 50v, 1kv and 3kv, which should I go for?
-electrolytic capacitor of 250 to 1000 mF at 16V or more: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 (this is 16v470uf and not the 1000uf that the OP used)
-a 270 to 470 ohm, 1/8 watt or higher, resistor: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. The product listing labels each product skew with 'r'. I'm assuming that means ohms?

All of the resistors and capacitors are rated the same, I assume the only difference is the quality of parts. How can I tell which one is better? OP has also given a wide range of resistances to choose but which resistances are optimal. For example, I found the 16v470uf for cheap but OP chooses a 1000 uf capacitor instead.