Reamping Issue

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave B

Hi All,

New member here so hopefully i have posted this in the appropriate spot.

I am a very amateur musician. However my hobby includes building guitar pedals (I have finished around 20) and then recording covers using the pedals i build.

My recording process is recording into a focusrite 212 and using Mac's Garageband as my daw (one of my issues).

My Laney Lionheart L5 studio has a reamping feature (it can also be used as an interface however I tend not to do this).

So after recording in GB I send my signal (VIA USB) from my mac to laney head which is then sent into the front of the amp (via my pedalboard).

This process has largely served me well and most of the time everything sounds great (albeit at times a bit digitial).

However I have never been able to get it to play well with vintage GE fuzzes. Eg. tonebenders, buzz arounds etc. I believe this is becasue of the impedance and natural fickle nature of GE fuzzes. The Fuzz does sound ok directly recording into GB or through the amp alone. It is purely a problem when reamping.

I have been investigating this more & trying to come up with a solution.

1) method would be to send the signal straight from my DAW into a reamp box and then recording the track with a microphone. HOWEVER Garageband does not allow this... its bigger brother LOGIC does.

2) my other idea was to have a reamp box between the send of the amp and the board - which would allow me to continue to remap the current way. I have no idea whether this would help.....