Sample Rate Conversion

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Perhaps because you have excess information... more than one input sample per output sample. The less output samples are averaged weighted sum of the extra input data.

JR

PS: Probably not the "best" explanation ;)

I'm looking for an accessible way to understand it. I am not a coder or a DSP guy. Someone I know is hung up on the whole 96 not being an even multiple of 44.1 thing, and says " Mix two frequencies you get side bands. That is basic FFT 101, and there will be audible artifacts."

A DSP friend of mine said this:

"With modern sample rate conversion you put the audio into a virtual sample rate that is evenly divisible by both 96 and 44.1.

It's like multiplying fractions with different denominators. The actual numbers don't matter. They're just numbers and we have mathematics to take care of this. It's not an issue when you have enough orders of magnitude of precision, which we do."

I'm just looking for someone to amplify these ideas.

You will get artifacts whether it's even or not. A lot will come down to the filtering and implementation. If it's offline then even or not, both will get upsampled as an intermediate step. Theoretically it shouldn't matter, but theory and practice not always the same, not all algorithms are good ones.

In the end the best sample rate conversion is often a D/A/D trip through another converter.

In the end the best sample rate conversion is often a D/A/D trip through another converter.
But a modern converter does just that on the inside: Oversampling (upsampling -> filtering ->downsampling). A legacy converter using analog filtering only would be a different matter, but it will be less transparent in terms of phase shift and frequency response.