Silly Soldering Question...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Commander Fluffypants

I'm having trouble getting solder to stick to two wires that I'm attempting to solder to a board (the meter board of my 1176; the wires in positions 3 and 4 that go to 28 and 29 on the main pcb.) I already had wires in there, but they were a bit short, so I removed them and twisted up a new longer pair. To further complicate my situation, one of them is solid core. I was having a hard time getting the solder to work on the solid core wire. The solder always stayed with the iron. Then I noticed I was having the same issue with the stranded wire. While I'm new to DIY, I've managed to build a few things by now and have never had this problem, at least not to this extent. My only guess is that something about desoldering the old wires is what's making it difficult now. Perhaps I need to use some flux other than what's in my solder? Are the pads on the meter board in need of some treatment  or cleaning?

Thanks as always

Desoldering braid and more flux are your friends here. When the tin doesn't get where you want, as long it's cooper, you need more flux, if you have trouble with old tin then you need the braid like this:
Desoldering-braid.jpg

I never seen one of those working badly, but sure there are, they are cheap so you test some and will find quickly if they work or not, some people have they favorites ones, I don't, this is the first pic on google for them, not a reference. Use a bit and cut it, don't keep using the same point till you get tired of it. Add a little bit of solder into the iron before, so heat gets faster and works much better, looks like counter intuitive to add solder when you try to desolder something but trust me, it's how it works.

JS

Might be an equally silly answer, but just to rule it out.