Solder Sukker from the UK.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fixorfling

Hi Forum,
ive been a Solder Sukker, for quite a few years, started repairing CBs, in the 90`s.
self taught,mostly.
Lately ive been buying,
Broken, and working, Old skool analogue, studio Gear, Compressors + EQ`s.
(putting my self in the deep end, @ fault Finding..o_O
i have fitted filter caps to all of them,
SNR in the headfones, is much better now.
Ive started playing with OpAmps,
Recently put 6 socket-ed OPA 2134, + 2181a vca`s, Replaced the 2150`s
in a Stereo, Cloud CX335, 2 Band, Compressor,
good result,
really transparent, and smooth
and the OPAs2134, have a nice neutral tone,
No More Shrill 1980s, ne5532 Treble,with the OPA OpAmps.
Tonight i Put 2181A VCA`s, in a DBX 166XL. (gates chattering slightly, on ch2 now,maybe, a VCA has an incomplete solder join...
Now its got some treble,and clarity,instant upgrade, not so Snubby with the Audio.
next ill do the SOP OpAmps, and pop some pics up.
also bought some china test gear
PSG9080 sig gen, (dont ever mess with the Firmware!
and yeepook Scope,
Bought a Broken, Aphex Expressor,That is distorting,when compression is applied..
And a LA Audio EQ,231G, now 90% fixed,Airy sounding EQ full of TL072s.
So iam also , learning how to use,New toys,
to fix the Old toys.

I am really pleased to see lots more Brits joining the group. Seems like you earned your chops on the bench. Can't say I agree with about the NE5532 but then any bad designer can make a good chip sound bad and there is unfortunately no shortage of bad designers. :cool:

Welcome to the group!

Cheers

Ian

Similar to what Ian says 5532s don't have shrill treble in themselves. But circuit design and implementation can introduce problems.