SSL question.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

j.hall

i'm a newbie here....

of those who have built the SSL clone, have any of you compared it to an original SSL buss comp, or even an Alan Smart C1 or C2?

if so, what are your thoughts.

J-

welcome to the lab...

Mine is waaaay smoother than a C1 that I compared it to but definitely does not have the mojo of the 384 that I am used to using that was removed from a console, not a rack mount version. I havent heard any ssl style thing that has that mojo though, so I wouldnt look at that as a negative criticism. When I say that the gssl that I built is fully awesome, Im saying its like, FULLY awesome for when you want that sound. %100 awesome.

Knowing your background and tastes, you need to build one of these right away. I guarantee you will be stupified when you listen to it. Since I built mine, I have not done a single mix without it and you know whats in my collection...

dave

Hi Hall,

Welcome to "The Lab"!

The SSL-Clone's behaviour is pretty close to the bus compressor in our SSL4044E, that it was dug out from.

And it's an easy build too.

Jakob E.

@ jakob:

In that case I have 2 questions..

1.)
what's the real amount of threshold of the SSL comp ??
-15 > +15 ...or... -20 > +20 ??

2.)

in another thread somebody measured the real ratio values and they were quite different

are the ratio settings exactly modelled after the SSL comp, so that the clone behaves like the real comp, or did you made some minor changes to adapt the circuit that maybe caused the differences ??

thanks,
matthias

Hi Matthias,

If you look at the schematics - the originals and mine - you will see, that threshold and ratio control circuits are the same - including component values.