Summing box -How would you build it?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XAXAU

I'm a rookie in electronics and have after 15 years in the box decided to build a summing box to do all the things that ITB just cannot. Recently I've gone through a few analog synths and initially I though they were weird and unpredictable, but have now realized that the charm and vibe comes from just that. The saturation in the osc mixer, filter distortion, overdrive etc. it's so reactive. I'm a huge fan and avid user of distortion in my music making and mixing and analog is truly where it's at. I've gone through almost a hundred distortion plugins and although they sound good in their own way, they can't do what analog does.

So after research and listening tests I've gotten hooked on the API sound and the CAPI stuff is great. I want to build a 2-ACA-BO with Jeff's new Litz wire trafos and gar2520 DOA's.

The idea is to have a tube circuit in there as well as a tape sim. Gustav's heater or tube part of the pultec for the tube section and soundskulptor sts tapesim (with limiter mids) as interstage/ insert processors. It would be nice with Gustavs MS Matrice built in as well cause I like to tweak audio
that way, plus most compressor projects here is mono so the LR balance would not matter, hence no need for expensive elmas. MS with transformers is another option plus it will bring more trafo mojo into the audio chain. A switch for on, off & bypass (the trafos = less coloration if needed).

Is it stupid of me wanting to put all in one box? I realize the power supply's would be a major issue plus it'll be a huge project. My head says build the summing unit first and the other units later on.  Oh, and it would be cool to reduce the negative feedback on the output trafos like in the Neve silk circuits, but I have no idea how to do that!:)