Tektronix 2205 vs 2235 vs 2440 for beginner

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bhudie

Hi Guys,

I'm looking for a little direction on which way to go. 

I'm about to dive in and buy my first scope.  I've put together a couple of 1176s and plan on doing at least 4 or 5 more projects including EQs and Mics, and I think it's time I invested in a scope.  I'm looking at 3 scopes right now on ebay.  I don't want to break the bank, but because I'm new to this, I'm willing to spend a small bit more for reliability. 

I was looking at these 3 scopes on ebay (tektronix 2205, 2235, 2440), and I was wanting to get an opinion on them.  Seems like I can get a 2205 with probes for about $185 after shipping. So my first questions are:

1. Will the 2205 meet my needs for audio?
2. What features is it lacking that I might find useful as I grow into it?

For a little over a hundred more I can get either a 2235 or a 2440.  So my next questios are:

1. Is one or the other of these better than the other for Audio DIY?
2. Are either/both better for Audio than the 2205?
3. Is it a problem to get a scope that's too fast?  i.e. does going for the fastest 2440 actually impact work with lower frequencies?

To give some perspective.  I understand that the 2440 is a 4 channel scope (to be honest, I don't yet have an idea how I would use the extra two channels...), and that it's faster at 300MHz(is this overkill??).  I have, however, spoken a bit with the seller of the 2440 and he appears to be a reputable seller (retired electrical engineer that refurbs and calibrates scopes).  If possible I'd like to get the cheapest one I can that won't leave me wanting to buy another, and I don't want to spend more than $300, and ideal world it would be $200...