Understanding & Calculating In/Out Impedance

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ERRP55

Apologies if I leave information out or if my question is confusing. I don’t know if I’m asking or searching for the right answers as I am still fairly new to audio electronics theory and design.

I am struggling to understand or find information that makes sense for calculating the input and output impedance of an audio circuit. I’m interested in understanding these specific topics because I’d like to build a triode based preamp with input and output transformers. I am also interested in adding balanced line output transformers to a quantum audio mixer I acquired a while back.

I’ve found a lot of videos and blog post online that throw equations at you but don’t use examples of actual circuits to apply them to.

I’ll attach a schematic of v72 which is a triode based preamp and the schematic for a QM-8A channel schematic. How would i calculate the input and output impedances of these circuits. Thanks!

Attachments

• V72.pdf
    488.8 KB · Views: 2
  • Quantum_QM-8A_Mixer_w_8B_input_scheme.pdf
    260.1 KB · Views: 1
Hi ERRP55 -

I would suggest picking up a copy of Merlin Blencowe's Designing High-Fidelity Valve Preamps. I have spent a really good amount of time with this book and it covers in depth input and output impedence. You should also be able to find a copy the RCA Receiving Tube Manual that should cover this stuff in detail as well. I've found most of it to be fairly straightforward expect for figuring out some of the transformer models and how they fit in.

I've been going over and over both texts and it gets little more clear each time. Seems like this E stuff is more of a marathon than a sprint.