what is the mt. everest of diy?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

badperson

Newbie here, just getting started.

I'm curious, I've heard the fairchild 670 is tough to clone, what are the toughest diy projects?

Are there certain units that are just beyond the reach of diy? converters maybe?

Are there projects you worked on that you couldn't get to sound as good as the original/pro models?

thanks!
bp

have to agree with jaakko...a big (50ch+)console would be a real challenge...

Are there projects you worked on that you couldn't get to sound as good as the original/pro models?

my clones tend to sound better than the originals :green: :green: :oops:

steff

Cloning a 670 is tough because the 6386 tubes go for way too much money, and without a reference it's tough to know if any sub is close. Manley uses the 6BA6 wired in pairs as a sub for the 6386, and that's what I did for my '660-like' compressor. Also, many remaining 6386 tubes will not be well matched from side-to-side, so you may end up with an unusable compressor - one that thumps and oscillates. Sowter offers the 660/670 transformers, but it'll be about $1000 for transformers for a 670, plus I've seen 6386 tubes go for over $100 apiece - and you need eight of them - so that's $800+ worth of tubes right there. The other tubes are easily available, but it's an expensive DIY project.