Whistle Rock Audio ML12 preamp BUILD/HELP thread!

Help Support GroupDIY:

Ricardus

WILL SOLDER FOR FOOD
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
1,479
Location
Upstate NY
You can but you need some iron on the input side ideally as youre going to need to drop that signal quite a bit coming in.

I considered doing that on my 8ch build but since i didnt put output attenuators i didnt see the need to add more weight/cost to the build. I have run line thru it via reverse DI boxes for some reason I cant recall which, if youre not planning to run line through it all that often might be a better option.
What is that power switch??
 

Ricardus

WILL SOLDER FOR FOOD
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
1,479
Location
Upstate NY
Ulincos Latching Pushbutton... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N751TAW?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

It was all chrome when i bought it. Now looks like theyre making it out of plastic. :(
So how do you have yours wired? The wiring description on the Amazon page assumes 12v power across the board. You you have on your mains, right?

-EDIT-
Never mind. I figured it out. I found an actual properly labeled pinout for the thing. I'll have to try one of these on a project,
 

sr1200

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
1,920
Location
Long Island, NY USA
So how do you have yours wired? The wiring description on the Amazon page assumes 12v power across the board. You you have on your mains, right?

-EDIT-
Never mind. I figured it out. I found an actual properly labeled pinout for the thing. I'll have to try one of these on a project,
ive use similar ones on a few projects now, they have a nice feel and the illumination is pretty neat. (mine glows blue)
 

oran.outan

Well-known member
Joined
May 12, 2021
Messages
57
Location
France
Hi all

@sr1200, I'll be interested in the Mod you made...
- for the DI Switch did you put the SPDT on pin 2 between the Main PCB and the DI PCB ?= open/close the Jack contact.

Also, on the DI PCB, there is that Jumper1, for choose between 1M/10M input impedance...
Did you put a Switch between there too ?!
Does change one of the resistor (R1 or R2) will make possible to work as a line input?
or using the 1M as a line in will be fine ?
Will be amazing to have that pre working in Mic/Hi-Z/line configuration...

thanks for you return !
Best
0-0
 
Last edited:

TillM

Well-known member
Joined
May 21, 2016
Messages
654
Location
Berlin - Germany
Really good work !
You will love that pre ! I used it since years and also rent it to recording engineers. Everyone loved it!
Instead of the DI I used the T-Pad.
 

Ricardus

WILL SOLDER FOR FOOD
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
1,479
Location
Upstate NY
Really good work !
You will love that pre ! I used it since years and also rent it to recording engineers. Everyone loved it!
Instead of the DI I used the T-Pad.
I am going to build some with the T-Pad as well, but first, I think I am going to build a 6-channel version with no DI's and no T-Pad, with en external PSU.

Can't wait to record some rock and roll!
 

Attachments

  • ML12 6Ch.png
    ML12 6Ch.png
    433.8 KB · Views: 14

Latest posts

Top