Total Newbie forum?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

I know this is a bit cheeky and I only have just this week decided to start DIY'g
I can just about solder (years ago) and I eventually want to buy old mic preamps and rack them up myself
So as this is a new start - any chance of a total newbie and I mean "absolutely total" newbie forum in the future.
The main problem I have at the moment is trying to understand in total laymans terms - how to get from a UK 240v mains plug into a device (obviously a PSU) that can deliver power to two or more modules...
I have looked at Group DIY - but am still totally mystified..
I won't bother asking the questions here - any mileage in the idea of a newbie forum?

Hi UK!

PLEASE ASK THE QUESTIONS! That's how we learn and the guys are always helpful. Except for that Doc Holliday asshole :wink:

cheers,
kent

Yes, no one hear knows everything (well...). Everyone here learns from other people and everyone helps other people learn, so don't be afraind to ask.

Seth

[quote author="jrmintz"]Yes, no one hear knows everything (well...).
Seth[/quote]

Well sometimes i wonder if that can really be true about PRR :wink: :shock:

To Uk just ask your questions. As this is a new start of the forum the search function won't be a good source for answers so fire away your questions. In the future when the forum here gets filled with knowledge (as the old forum was) the search function is a very important tool.

As for the psu. Normally a psu consists of two things. One is the main transformer which transforms the incoming mains voltage (in your case the 240V) to a much smaller voltage. It depends on the type of transformer how much this voltage is. Also it depends on the type of the transformer how much current it can deliver at this voltage.