80 series 1073 DIY Build Guide

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MathCantin

Hello all.
I'm sharing with you a guide on how to build your own 1073 module.
This is the first draft of a guide I've been working on for a few months.
This is meant to be used in conjunction with the 1073 User Manual .
I've learned so much from the GroupDIY community, I wanted to give back.

1073 BUILDING GUIDE V1.0

(the guide is about 89 pages, so it might take a while to load everything. Especially on cellphone.)

Hopefully this will give the courage to people who hesitated to do this beautiful build. If you want some pictures of specific details of the module please let me know and I'll do my best to make them for you.

(Special thanks to Noizetoys: he was very helpful with some last details I needed to complete this guide and to Sasarist for selling me the chassis)

Have a good read!

8_1073_v2.png

Beautifully crafted document. You should be proud of yourself.

The only part I might take issue with is Geoff's description of calibrating the output stage. Geoff and I were both at Neve in the 70s but modules were built and calibrated in the Kelso factory so nobody at the Cambridge facility where we both worked had to do the cal. The cal is basically setting the quiescent current though the 2N3055. What causes clipping is drawing that current into a load so if you do not attach a 600 ohm load you draw little or no current. So my recommendation is to attach a 620 ohm 2 watt resistor across the output hot and cold when doing this test. The 1073 is specced to drive +26dBu into a 600 ohm load so I would expect it would have been set up and tested with this load attached.

It is entirely possible that this is why a lot of the clones don't quite have the right sound.