Advice for a career in Electronics Engineering

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeromeMason

Hi guys,

I'm not sure if this is the place to ask, but there are a lot of people that seem to be in this career field on here and I wanted to get some advice.

I've been an audio engineer for over 10 years, developed a pretty good career at it, but I want something more and building gear and the idea of knowing the theory beyond the parts is fascinating to me. I want to be able to design a circuit and build my own gear, maybe even possibly have this as a career to fall back on if the mixing/recording side keeps sinking lower and lower. I absolutely love building electronics, always have since I was a little kid.

But like I said I want to take it a step further and go back to school and get a degree in Electrical Engineering. What I'd like to know is if some of you that are in this field could give me advice on what type of degree to go after. Do I need a 4 year degree, should I go to a technical institute, can I just get by with an associates, what type of degree/courses are going to prepare and teach me how to build audio and other types of equipment. I just want to know what would be the best and most efficient way, cost and time wise to get to the point that I can build the equipment I want to build.