Alctron MP100 Preamp / UA710

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cageytiger

Hi guys.

I have a MP100 (it's a direct copy of the UA710, looking online at the guts of UA710 it might even have better components?) I picked up for next to nothing a while back which has never behaved correctly, most of the gain seemed to be in the last 5% of the Gain pot and the tone blend knob seems to not do what it's supposed to, it changes the sound very slightly but feels most 'different' at 50% and seems to go back to same sound or there abouts at 0 and 100%. I've just built a load of those DIYRE units, so I'm feeling a bit inspired to sort this out next. I have very little electronic knowledge but can solder and have a multimeter. I've ran into a few issues and have a load of questions...

I've identified 2 expected issues; the gain pot is mental. The multimeter gives me wild jumpy readings from 0 to 80k on the wiper. It has '12CA20k' on the pot, it has 6-pins and 2 arms that I'm assuming are just there for support. I cannot find these anywhere, not even on google image search, god knows where Alctron got them from. Can I swap this out for any 6 pin A20k pot and just solder wires to the board to the corresponding pins? There's plenty of room to work with so I should be fine.