Audix B100 broadcast console

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Outside In

Hi everyone, long time lurker first time poster here. I've been operating a small project studio for 4 or 5 years in the fens of the UK. I've recently lucked into my first class-A gear; an old Audix B100 broadcast console with a handful of spare modules. It seems to be pretty much complete, with the original 24v power supply.

IMG_1961.JPG

IMG_2021.JPG

I've written to Audix to request schematics and as much information as possible, but in the meantime decided now would be a good time to start posting here, organise my thoughts, hopefully meet some knowledgable people and generally vent my (perhaps premature) excitement!

Depending on feasibility, I would like to use the preamps, compressors, and perhaps the routing & summing matrices in a multitrack setup.  This probably depends mostly on how the summing is arranged now; if the modules (along with routing and output modules) provide a mic/line level signal or if the summing section steps everything up together later in the signal chain.

Right now I want to get my head around how the summing and routing works so I can make a decision and get started. I'm resisting the temptation to try and power the desk up so I can carefully clean / check it over without worrying too much about killing myself.

The transformers seem to be quite exciting; I think they are Marinairs after reading some posts that came up in searches on here: T1442, T1447 and some others. Hopefully I can make a plan that results in surplus transformers for some exotic 24v DIY projects to slot into the desk, depending on the capacity of the power supply  8)