build a better constant current load

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

manaduar

Hello,

I'm not an electrical engineer and or have a background in electronics, although I am an IT professional by trade.  I have taken on an assignment to help contribute to a PC hardware review website who is in need of somebody to review PC power supplies.  I began looking into the hardware that would be needed to do the testing and saw the price tags... :(

An oscilloscope I don't think I'm going to be able to get away from having to purchase, but while looking around for different options to generate a load to test with, I found the youtube video by dave jones:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xX2SVcItOA

a little more looking around and I find out everybody and their dog apparently has seen this video and knows about it.  I'd like to build something like this but I had a lot of problems to start:
1.  I wasn't sure he was speaking english (I'm not refering to his accent)
2.  I needed something that could be adjustable from 10% to 100% load of any PC power supply out there
3.  it would need to be able to test a single or multiple rails
4.  it would have to be able to evenly distribute the load across 3.3v, 5v, and 12v power.

PC power supplies ( I'm sure anybody on here would understand this but I'm trying to be thorough in my explanation) can range anywhere from 250W to 1500W+ giving over 70 amps on a single connection, so this would take a LOT of load which.  Dave's load, as he states in the video can only draw 1 or 2 amps.