DC Filament Supply questions

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonasnoble

GDIY Supporter
Good day everyone, could you help me with a simple DC Filament Supply? I've searched the forums and don't see exactly what I need.

This is my first attempt at running DC heaters, and I thought it would be really simple. I have 12.6V into a bridge rectifier, filtered, the voltage divider feed to a 7806 or a Zener, and I cannot get either one to work. The Zener method will give me the 6.3VDC, but as soon as I load it with anything (even a light load) the supply drops to ~2V.

Here are some sims I'm working with. If anybody could direct me to a schematic or thread, I'd be very grateful. (I'm sure this has been covered.) Or, if you can tell me how to provide enough juice that my supply doesn't get dragged down so hard...

Attachments

• 7806.jpg
    7806.jpg
    94.3 KB · Views: 3
  • Zener.jpg
    Zener.jpg
    88.3 KB · Views: 5
  • Zener unloaded.jpg
    Zener unloaded.jpg
    276 KB · Views: 2
  • Zener loaded.jpg
    Zener loaded.jpg
    273.5 KB · Views: 1
It looks like a 7806 can take anywhere from 9V to 25V, so maybe I need to try it without the voltage divider. I thought I just didn't want to make it work that hard.

7806 - what's with the 27k / 68k divider, BEFORE the 7806? That series 27k will drop 1V for every 37mA 37uA (microamps) you attempt to draw through it.

Zener - you seem to have a 2.7k / 6.8k divider before the zener. Same as above, just dropping 1V for every 3.7mA 370uA / 0.37mA draw.

While it's true that zeners need a series resistor "upstream" of them, in order to work as intended, there are online calculators for that.

How about retry both simulations, but REMOVE those 27k/68k divider ahead of the 7806, and the 6.8k R3 from the zener schematic?

http://www.calculatoredge.com/electronics/zener.htm