DIY compressor for bass guitar

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smoke

Hello everyone,

I'm a new enthusiast and this hangout looks pretty cool. I'm halfway through my first DIY project, the G9 preamp. Good work Jacob.

I have a few questions (obviously, im a newbie).

1) I've read nearly every post discussing input and output transformers, and still I couln't decide on which brand to choose. I'm located in Australia, Melbourne, and OEP, Lundahl and Hammond (and other brands) are available to me. In general most people are happier with Lundahl, however a few say OEP have a better sound. OEP is $41 AUD and Lundahl around $70.
Can someone give a comparison between these transformers.
My applications are:
Running vocals
Playing bass through it (experimenting), i like chunky, powerfull with cut mids
possibly guitar and drums.
Music style is rock, fast punk rock and so on.
I would appreciate advice on input and output transformers,possible with facts and data.

2)The next project I plan is a compressor to use on a bass guitar. is the LA2a a good option, or SSL better? or a Vari-mu?

3) then comes the EQ. to use together with the G9, possibly on bass guitar. The pultec EQ looks nice. any other suggestions considering my applications?

4) I noticed some people are from australia. Where do you guys get your transformers,caps and tubes from? It seems like they are hard to find!

I'd appreciate responses and any other suggestions on equipment that may be useful for me.

I'll submit photos of my G9 soon!

thanks guys.

The SSL compressor is designed for a full mix to play through. The LA2A is a good choice, but the 1176 might be a more popular compressor for bass guitar.

[quote author="Smoke"]The pultec EQ looks nice.[/quote]

Not for punk rock bass guitar, though. More of an acoustic upright bass EQ, IMO.

Peace,
Al.