Forssell's EQ paper - some questions

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoshuaUnitt

first off,  I'm a technician- not an engineer (and I don't endeavour to be one! :D ). So I'm learning and open-minded, and feel free to talk to me like I'm 5.

Basically I've been commissioned to come up with a preamp/EQ. I've got a pretty good grasp on the preamp, but I'm not so confident in my EQ design abilities so I consulted Fred Forssell's White Paper. A very challenging, very fun read, if I may say! I would like to use his one-amp, gyrator-based approach in a 4-band fully parametric EQ, but I do have a (probably dumb) question about his circuit that I'm having trouble resolving in my head.

First off, here's the basic circuit-
index.php

That's well and good, but I'm having trouble understanding the actual actuation of boost and cut. What I gleaned from his paper was that if your filter network exists as part of the shunt from the negative feedback loop to ground, then you get boost functionality; and that if your filter network exists in the shunt from the non-inverting input of your opamp to ground, you'll get cut functionality. This circuit seems to be connected in both fashions, yet the paper seems to speak of the circuit having discrete "cut" and "boost" modes, implying a switch? Which I don't see. Thoughts? Help?

here's a link to the paper in case anyone needs a quick reference- http://www.forsselltech.com/media/attachments/Evolution_of_an_EQ_Design2.pdf

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-02-06 at 4.05.20 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-02-06 at 4.05.20 PM.png
    36.9 KB · Views: 316
I built it with switches for different frequency cap/inductor settings.
Makes a great effect eq.
Main drawback I found was having the cut/boost pot in this position is very prone to noise.
Fine for set and forget, but don't try changing it during a mix.