Good first studio preamps on a (tight) budget

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoundsOfJill

Hello everyone,

I've been working from my home studio for about two years now. Picking up various small gigs in A/V and also working on my own music as an aside. Over time my needs have been shifting more and more from just editing, mixing and mastering to recording instruments and vocals for music production. I'm starting to get my first clients as a music producer, and seeing that I will get a bit of money from that I figured I might as well start planning on ways to expand my studio.
I'm doing fairly alright on my mic locker, in great part thanks to the DIY knowledge I have gathered here. And while I would love to have some outboard processing stuff, I feel like it's not my main priority.
My main struggle right now is getting enough input gain, especially for my dynamic mics. And also having some nice coloration to go with my numerous transformer less condenser mics.

I need preamps. Badly. The preamps of my 18i20 are cute and all but don't exactly cut it. I've considered the following options:
- Finding an old analog mixer with good enough preamps on it
- 500 series preamp kits
- Cheap tube preamps from studio projects
- Rackable pres (octopre, artTube optotube 8 etc.)
- Learning to make custom PSUs for console channel strips and rack mount them (I've seen a few of those around secondhand sites)

But I have no idea what is the best idea of them all. I don't have much room for error financially, and I'd rather ask the opinion of people who have potentially owned several of these solutions beforehand.
I'm especially curious of the 500series stuff. It all seems nice for DIYers but the costs of rack chassis for those are a bit scary.

Thank y'all in advance for your help.

Attachments

• hamptone_fet_scan.pdf
    419.7 KB · Views: 1
Last edited:
Hi!