Greetings from Sunny Seattle, USA

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paracelsus

Greetings All!

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I have been building pedals and a ridiculous rack synth for a few years and self-studying recording and mixing — mostly through trial and error. Your threads helped me so much with that, so I thank you! Hopefully someday I can repay the favors.

My experience building (and attempting to design) synths and pedals got me thinking I could probably learn a lot from the repair of old analog gear and building DIY outboard gear designs to learn mixing and recording from the inside!

My educational background is in chemical physics and my day job these days involves developing maritime survey instrumentation at a startup, so I think I’m pretty handy with a soldering iron and schematics/PCBs in KiCAD. There’s always more new skills to learn from my elders and wisers though!

If you don’t want to read about my fairly anemic home studio setup, please by all means skip to the end!

I have a pretty basic beginner-level setup I built up with what I could find during the early part of the pandemic. I use it mostly to record my own vocals, synths, and guitars. Right now, the rig consists of:

*Focusrite Scarlett Solo Gen. 3 ( upgrading that one soon before going too nuts with additional outboard stuff… thinking of moving to a Scarlett 18i20.)
*A 2014 Mac Mini retrofitted with dual SSDs. I run an open source recording server application called Jamulus configured to record my friend and I playing in real time (he’s 1000 miles away in Nevada!)
*2x 1989 Alesis Quadraverbs
*A cheap Mackie Mix8 desktop mixer.
*AudioTechnica AT2020 dynamic mic for vocals. I like it. Can’t beat the quality for the price.
*An El Cheapo Shure PG58 mic that I use for acoustic guitars. Planning to upgrade to SM57s for this.