Grounding micpre

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pazduha

This is my first project attempting to make a Hamptone JFET preamp.
Included below is a layout of a wiring. Purple lines are a shield of a shielded cable.
There is a bit of a problem with a hum. The level of noise with power off is -90db on a converter.
With all the pots to the max I get -50dB. The gain of single stage (lets say hjfp1) is 24dB.
I would be glad if u can help me with the grounding.
Included are the pictures of preamp and a freq graph of the noise.
layout.png
Thank you,
Miha

Attachments

• back.jpg
    back.jpg
    471.2 KB · Views: 0
  • freq.png
    freq.png
    84.7 KB · Views: 1
  • front.jpg
    front.jpg
    626.5 KB · Views: 1
  • front2.jpg
    front2.jpg
    476.6 KB · Views: 0
Is this with nothing plugged into the XLR input? And/or which input (XLR or instrument) is selected? Or do you get the same noise level on either one?

Try connecting, for testing, a 150 ohm resistor between pins 2 and 3 - that's how noise specs of mic preamps are measured.

I have a jack plug for di that disconects the mic side of the wiring.

I did some tests:

mod 1: Nothing pluged in with thick wires connecting all the pin1 to the earth nut at the back.
This seems to make the amp 10dB more quiet. (I have to rerun tests again i might have messed up the measurement, coz of the small box, putting wires back on is a nightmare)

mod 2: Pins 1 only connected to the metal near the plug as in layout picture
-No Di nothing pluged in : peak -33.7 dB (strong 100hz peak with harmonics)
-150 ohm pins 2,3: peak -33.4 dB peak same as before.
- guitar on 0 pluged in DI: -29.5 dB peak same as before.

I would say the noise is the same on all plugs.

Where the mic signal cable reaches the board, what is the screen connected to?