Hello from Chicago

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jaddie

First time I've ever "introduced" myself on a forum...so here goes.

I'm a broadcast engineer, still, after 54 years. I have both FM and AM radio stations to take care of now. Many decades ago I did a lot of custom audio design for a particular FM station, but the current economy of broadcasting doesn't support much custom/DIY anymore. I've also owned a video production company, a home theater company, and I fly drones.

Hope that's enough! I hate blowing my horn.

That's not blowing your horn, that's allowing everyone to get to know you. I spent 17 years in FM (classical station, now news) before moving into education. I don't think I'd recognize the radio industry (or the station I worked at) any more.

I sometimes watch people fly drones...

Hey, what does an Audio Educator do? I mean, where? Never a greater need! I not seeing evidence of massive education on some other forums, just a lot of pop culture, misconceptions and waist-deep mythology.

You have your work cut out! More voltage times current to you!

Well... I guess I should say university professor who taught audio production. In 1989 I began the Audio Production program at Webster University, St. Louis, MO and headed the program for about 20 years. It is still in very fine hands with the current department chair. https://www.webster.edu/communications/academics/audio/index.php

I was there for 30 years total and retired 7 years ago. But I also record music on location -- classical, jazz, folk, etc, during those years up to the present. I have very fond memories of a lot of great students who have gone on to accomplish wonderful things.

Now I'm lucky and glad to hang out with people like you and the other good folks here.