Hello from Germany – emt256, 436c, rs124, rs660

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alfred

Hello everyone!

I am joining the forum from Germany. As a musician, my interest in electronics is led by the needs I encounter within my own recording and mixing setup.

So far, my diy experience has been limited to the planing of devices and the mechanical side of solutions - working together with professionals in the realisation of the electronic part. So, my own knowledge of electronis is very limited. But over the years I find myself more and more often with an soldering iron.

My first project was a dual function unit, making use of two Telefunken V672 amps, that can be switched between working as mic pres or stereo summing amps. For the summing net, I used PCBs from Ruffrecords. Thanks Ian!
Second project was a passive monitor control unit, using Elma switches and a Neumann Danner Module for switching phase, left, right, mono, mute, pad etc.
For my third project I again used vintage Neumann components for switching all daw outputs in stereo pairs either to a master sum via a Neumann V475 or a fx group, summing there by those two V672 amps.
Followed by a ms matrix and master fx switch, based on pcbs by Ka Electronics.

Over the years, I have repeatedly read conversations on the groupDIY forums, that popped up researching my various questions. And it has often meant enlightenment for me. Also, some conversations are quite entertaining!