How hard is it to design my own mic?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ankitmastakar

Hello kind people of GroupDIY,

Please forgive my lack of knowledge about this, I do not have an electronics background, but I'm trying to try learn at the moment and also trying to do a couple of mic mods. I'm a mere novice.

But, this question keeps bugging me, how hard is it to design my own mic?

Let's say, for now, I buy capsules from someone else, but how hard is it to understand and build circuitry for it? Also, mic body design?

As with the answers to nearly all engineering questions - it depends.

How much money are you willing to sink into this? That may or may not make this from-scratch idea unfeasible (or not).

I've seen a few mic builds here made out of brass piping and whatnot, but depends a lot if and/or how handy you are at metalworking. But if you want to design your own body from the ground up, and have it manufactured by a third party, expect some minimum order quantity of at least tens, plus engineering/tooling fees and whatnot.

And regarding the circuitry... Once again, it depends. Solid state or tube? If solid state, transformer-coupled or not? You'll have to set some (clearer) design goals before you start, otherwise it's a "how long is a piece of string?" type deal...

Hello kind people of GroupDIY,

Please forgive my lack of knowledge about this, I do not have an electronics background, but I'm trying to try learn at the moment and also trying to do a couple of mic mods. I'm a mere novice.

But, this question keeps bugging me, how hard is it to design my own mic?

Let's say, for now, I buy capsules from someone else, but how hard is it to understand and build circuitry for it? Also, mic body design?