Integration of DIY guitar effects into Aux Sends/Returns

G

Guest

Guest
I do aplogise for perhaps the basic question but I am having a bit of a thick moment here.

I plan to buy a few of these PCBs for use on my mixer aux sends rather than in line
http://www.tonepad.com/projects.asp?projectType=fx

Is it as simple as taking the unbalanced line out from the aux send pushing it through then bringign it back on a unbalanced aux return - or am I missing something to do with level and impendence

In the future I am planning some balanced aux sends and returns - so I figure I can use a Kevs SSM2141 circuit on the way in http://www.celestial.com.au/~rosswood/diy/balancingbox/images/BEAR0201_300_10.jpg
then through the effects boxes and out again using one channel of SSLTechs SSM2142 circuit on the way out
http://www.beatbazar.com/guests/ssltech/ob-1/



Or I have I really oversimplified this and it's much more complicated than that
 

CJ

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
14,147
Location
California
I never got the same sound when using effects loops.
In guitar amps at least.
Maybe you will do better.
They seem to like the guitar input for some reason, maybe an impedence thing.
I think the whole effects loop option on amps of the 80's and later was a big waste. Every famous rock star setup you look at has the effects up front. There might be a few exceptions.
One of the problems was when the effect sits on the guitar, the input signal remains pretty constant everytime you plug in.
With the effects loops, the input signal will vary in strength depending on where you have the amps controls set at. Also the tone controls.
So more consistancey goint into effetcs first.
 
G

Guest

Guest
After rading the other posts - i am thinking
some sort of line to guitar interface (dare i say that reamp name)
then into effects rack
then DI back into desk

or am I on the wrong track completely
 

guavatone

Well-known member
Joined
May 21, 2005
Messages
1,592
Location
USA
[quote author="uk03878"]After rading the other posts - i am thinking
some sort of line to guitar interface (dare i say that reamp name)
then into effects rack
then DI back into desk

or am I on the wrong track completely[/quote]

I've been thinking about doing a similar thing (shouldn't this be in DB)
-Not necesarily for guitar, but sometimes I want to route vocals or other recorded tracks through a phase 90 or fuzz/TS. It would be cool to rackmount some of these analog FX. Sometimes the digital realm is just plain boring.
 

SSLtech

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
5,439
Location
Florida (Formerly UK)
Guitar FX pedals are for in-line insertion. This means that the output usually carries the direct signal along with the effected one. You should modify the pedal to remove any direct signal. -Assuming you want to use if for send-&-return rather than in-line insertion. (the difference between a comp/gate and a revcerb/delay or a tradidional fuzz insertion and an additive use)

ALso, Reamp is fine for the way in I suppose; but for the way out, you'll need a line-booster, which will have to be active,so save the (considerable) money.

I suggest a 2141 into a pot (unity buffer to follow if you like, but most FX pedals are hi-Z and the line is likely to be short, so why bother?) and making it back up with a Hi-Z variable gain buffer into a 2142.

For unbalanced use, even easier: -just omit the 2141 & 2142.

Make a few of these and put them into a 1U case, under the FX pedals.

Keith
 

MD

New member
Joined
Jan 26, 2006
Messages
3
Location
Brooklyn, NY
[quote author="uk03878"]After rading the other posts - i am thinking
some sort of line to guitar interface (dare i say that reamp name)
[/quote]

Or, in a pinch, a passive DI backwards. Works for me.

-MD
 
G

Guest

Guest
[quote author="clintrubber"]The idea is simple, but if you want to have a drawn example then browse www.geofex.com Couldn't find it right now, but there was a ready to go circuit.[/quote]
is this it?
http://www.geofex.com/circuits/Adjusticator.gif
 

amorris

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 5, 2004
Messages
525
Location
Orlando
you should always mic a gtr cabinet. damn, a 57 sounds great on just about anything!
 

clintrubber

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
5,935
Location
The Netherlands
[quote author="uk03878"][quote author="clintrubber"]The idea is simple, but if you want to have a drawn example then browse www.geofex.com Couldn't find it right now, but there was a ready to go circuit.[/quote]
is this it?
http://www.geofex.com/circuits/Adjusticator.gif[/quote]

Right, that's the one ! :thumb:
 

Latest posts

Top