It's different this time...?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
He's pushing the crazy electric future without understanding the fundamental back-of-the-envelope math needed to support it. That indicates that not only is he clueless, but he either has hired clueless underlings or isn't listening to those who know these facts.

He's virtue signalling instead of solving actual transportation problems. He also seems to seek publicity like he's still running for President. Fail.
He’s is implementing the transportation act that was passed in a bipartisan vote. He hasn’t made any of those large policy decisions.

Thanks, Pucho. Interesting site.

I know poverty in general is declining around the world. But I don't think that's due only to economic growth.

I've been studying money streams for many years now and I've never seen an example where it wasn't the inverse: first basic needs were supplied and that lead to the start of small businesses.

The best example are micro loans. These have been very successful in Asia and Africa. In India, fi, the govt wanted to get everyone a bank account and a phone. They developed a 9$ basic phone with some smartphone features and every one of the 32? languages spoken in India. The fact that even the poorest had a possibility to communicate AND transfer money easily produced small enterprise everywhere. Provided basic needs were already filled. You can't eat a phone.

It has done a lot for the poor in India.

What I see happening is waves. The first wave fills basic needs. The second one opens economic opportunities. The third one will consolidate: the newly required "wealth" leads to investment. Building a house, or acquiring a tractor or something like it.