Jeff's ClassicAPI 312 kit

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

New Soul Rebel

I cannot say enough about how awesome the CLASSICAPI 312 Mic Pre Kit is. Blown away does not come close. I just wanna congratulate Jeff Steiger on a fantastic kit. My god am I in love with my 312. It sounds so wonderful.

I'm completely new to this. I sold my Mackie 32/channel 8 bus, to realise my dream of owning a completely API (ok homebuilt) front end (i.e. 51X 11 channel rackmount full of 312's, with some different flavour DOA's in it. That's the idea. I still have my lunchbox which will eventually be populated with a 312, 512c, 550a, 525 comp and so on. Possibly a Pultec as well. Selling my Mackie was a big deal, and to go the whole hog and sell my mainstay of my studio for what was essentially quite a big risk. Well, it was a big step for me.

Jeff's 312 took me 1.5 days to build, including the gar2520 opamp kit. (which is quite a tough little build for a first timer like me! God, painstaking stuff!). I am so impressed by the quality of the kit. The PCB is superb (and I mean superb) quality, the stuff

Fantastically packaged, amazing instructions and so well supported. Jeff is a good guy, always responded to my emails really promptly which was so helpful and reassuring. Its great to come to forum like this where people like Jeff are basically, well just encouraging of people to get into the scene.