Learning About Hardware Digital Stuff

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cpsmusic

Hi All,

For some unknown reason I've become a fan of hardware digital reverbs and FX units. Most of these can now be picked up relatively cheaply, although many are in various states of disrepair.

So far I've bought and repaired a Roland SRV-330 and TC M300, both of which had power supplies that failed, and both were fairly easy fixes.

My background is music and audio production and I've also worked as a C/C++ programmer. Electronics-wise I'm probably at an intermediate level - I can figure out schematics and have built various bits and pieces although I'm not at the level where I could design something.

So my question is, what's a good way to go about learning the digital side of these hardware devices? I know that's a big question and the technology changed from the 80s to the 90s. Say I was interested in repairing one of the Lexicon units (PCM60, 70, etc.). Is there a go-to textbook for learning about this stuff?

Cheers,

Chris

Learning about repairing and learning about how stuff works are two different things, but I would recommend Morris Mano's "Digital Design" and "Digital Systems: Principles and Applications" by Tocci, Widmer and Moss. Those two books will teach you everything from logic gates, flip flops, memories such as EEPROMS, analog to digital and digital to analog converters, etc..., which is much of the stuff that you will find inside the units of that era. They are also books which I consider very easy to follow, particularly the one by Tocci. Try buying them used, you can get old editions so you don't have to pay full price. You can also get the so-called "International Editions".

P.S. Mods: I suggest moving the thread to the Truth Table forum, since it is really not suited for the Brewery.

Last edited: