My first tube mic schematic

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pasarski

I finally have the schematic for my tube mic. I'm still short of many of the components, but thought it's a good time to send this schemo here, if anyone's interested to look at it for obvious mistakes (this is my first build)? I started from the ELA M 251E circuit, took some values from the Royer circuit, and apparently ended up to what is basically a G7 circuit modded to 5840 tube. I tried to change values in the PSU for lower plate voltage, don't know if I calculated right.  5840 needs about 7,5 mA of current (I think). Don't know if it's getting enough. Here's how it looks. Could this thing possibly work?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/47781016@N06/4390421363/

It would be also nice to hear if there's something that's not needed. I'd like to keep it simple.

EDIT: Ooops, there was one quite big mistake, no voltage to the plate. Changed the picture.

First learn ohms law.  current = voltage / resistance.  Lets make up some numbers if you have a 100K plate the

Voltage to the "top" of the of the plate resistor is 100VDC

Voltage at the plate is say 50VDC

The voltage across the 100K plate is 50VDC

50VDC/100k =.5ma this is the plate current

Now read up on operating points of tube circuits and tube curves.

Now go to the tube curves with the tube set in triode mode if a pentode

Look up the plate current at and find the needed bias voltage

Problem is you might need to trace the curves yourself because you might not find a triode curve of a pentode

If you look at something like the Royer 2001 tube circuit say the supply voltage is 100VDC and you have a 100K plate the MAX plate current you could have would be less than 100VDC/100K = 1ma