Neumann NN48b Help

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

damianschwartz

Hello there!
I wanted to see if someone can help me. I'm trying to fix a NN48b Neumann PSU. I have no filament voltage when i measure (without the mic connected). I'm not the best at electronics since i'm still learning lot's of things, so please bear that in mind.

I've been chasing down the issue, and apparently it is the AD130 transistor.
B to E -OL
B to C -OL
E to B -0.11v
C to B 0.11v
C+ to E- =OL
(C- to E+ = 0.15v) For what i read here https://vetco.net/blog/test-a-transistor-with-a-multimeter/2017-05-04-12-25-37-07 this might indicate the transistor is faulty?

In the case the AD140 is faulty, i have both AD149 and AD150 in stock, and for the datasheets, i assume i can use them to replace the AD130 here. I'm i right?

Both diodes seem to be ok.

Attachments

• NN48b.jpg
    NN48b.jpg
    199.4 KB · Views: 46
This happened after C2 kind of exploded, it was the original cap, i went and changed all of them, but then i did't measure the filament voltage. I checked the Mic with another nn48 psu and works fine, but i don't want to plug it to this psu till i'm sure the psu is fine.

You can use AD140 or 149 instead of AD130. Anyway, I will suggest using a robust Si transistor here, as 2N or MJ2955.
Also, your measurement results do not 100% show that the transistor is faulty. Have you check voltages on C2, C4, C5 and C7?

moamps said:
You can use AD140 or 149 instead of AD130. Anyway, I will suggest using a robust Si transistor here, as 2N or MJ2955.
Also, your measurement results do not 100% show that the transistor is faulty. Have you check voltages on C2, C4, C5 and C7?

Hey, thanks Moamps. I was measuring voltage across C2 C4 C5 but not C7 if i remember correctly, and it was around 20v across the  +- of each cap